IEEE Volunteer History

Peter Clout, Life Fellow of the IEEE – Standing for Division IV Director-Elect 2022

Asking for your vote – but before I do that, let me tell you of my detailed involvement in IEEE.

IEEE volunteer service:

With university, national laboratory, international laboratory, and industrial entrepreneurship experience and having worked in three countries, I have financial experience right down to balance sheets and tax reporting. All that is left is my detailed IEEE experience that I list below:

IEEE Committees/Board: IEEE Board, Division IV Director, 2010-2012, Employee Benefit and Compensation Committee 2012-13. Audit Committee, 2011-12; Service Award Committee Member 2008-2011, Chair 2012-13, Past Chair 2014. IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award Selection Committee, Member 2009-2011, Chair 2012-13, Past Chair 2014.

Technical Activities Board (TAB): Member TAB Products and Services Committee, 2021;Member TAB FinCom, 2013-2018, 2020-2021; Chair TAB FinCom TAB Finance Manual Ad-Hoc, 2020; Member TAB FinCom Projects Ad-Hoc 2020-2021; Member TAB Ad-Hoc on Directory of Financial Data 2018; Chair, S/C Financial Guidance/Development Ad-Hoc 2018; Member TAB FinCom S/C Watchlist Ad-Hoc 2018, Chair 2019-2020, and member 2021; Member TAB FinCom Periodicals Committee 2018-2021; Chair, TAB Financial Transparency AdHoc 2014- 2015; Member TAB FinTrans Committee 2015-2016 and member FinTrans ExCom 2017-2020; TAB Hall of Honor Committee Ad-Hoc 2012; TAB Hall of Honor Committee, Chairman 2013-2015, and member 2016-2017; Society Review Committee; Chair, 2002-03, and member, 2009-10; TAB Strategic Planning Committee, 1999-2003; TAB Awards Committee, NPS Representative, 1999-2000; TAB Nominating Committee, 1996-1997; TAB Meetings Council, 1996; TAB, Board Member, 1995-96; TAB Public Relations Committee, NPS Representative, 1994-96; TAB Awards Committee, 1993-1994.

Society: Nuclear Plasma Sciences Society (NPS): Past President, 1997-98; President, 1995-96; Vice President, 1994; AdCom, Elected Member, 1993-96, 1987-90; AdCom Secretary, 1992-94, 1990; Computer Applications Technical Committee, 1984-2006; Communications Committee, Chair, 1998-2021; Fellow Candidate Evaluation Committee, 2021; Finance Committee: 2019-2021; Constitution Review Committee, 2020, 2005-07, 2000; Awards Committee: Chair, 1999-2000, member, 1995-96; Nominations Committee: Past Chair, 1999-2000, Chair, 1997-98; Particle Accelerator Technical Committee, 1986-94; Particle Accelerator Conference, Program Committee, 1987.

Section: Life Member Affinity Chair, Los Alamos and Northern New Mexico Section 2016-2019; Member ExCom 2020-21

The opinions expressed on this website are the opinions of the author and not necessarily the opinions of the IEEE.

“So many things are possible just as long as you don’t know they’re impossible.”

Norton Juster